HBO’s The Newsroom, so far

So, upon once watching the pilot and then proceeding to watch the rest of the five episodes of HBO’s latest drama series, The Newsroom, I like everyone else who was a journalism major at one point or another instantly regretted not pursuing it. Well, at least I think they would. I do. Oh man oh man do I. I think Aaron Sorkin (The West Wing, Moneyball, The Social Network) created a fantastic show. Who wouldn’t want to work in that environment? Know everything before everyone else, persuasion at it’s highest level trying to prove your story is most important and current and that you excel at presenting your findings and the truth.

I’ll try to do this without spoilers.

The show is fast. Everyone on the show speaks so fast! But that’s the work environment right? You have to be on your toes at all times, have to make quick yet logical decisions, and most importantly, they have to be the right ones. Now, they make it clear on the show people make mistakes and the stress definitely takes a toll on those in the field, but things always work out in the end. The characters and the actors and actresses who portray them are incredibly strong in personality and demeanor. They are lions and lionesses, they rule and fight for what they believe. This show is definitely fast-paced, which is a nice change for HBO. From the shows that I’ve watched/seen (True Blood, Hung, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Game of Thrones, The Wire, Boardwalk Empire, etc.) the story line builds a lot faster, also in comparison to other hit shows on other channels. Which is nice for a person like me who has a short attention span. However, this does not mean that the story line is rushed or simplistic. There is a strong theme of love and dating, but it’s kind of nice to see that these journalists have a life outside of the work environment. The characters are really likeable and seem real. I’d love to be friends with these people.

It’s about halfway through the season and the team has already passed through a year, or something like that. Sorkin, the screenwriter and etc., has done a pretty good job at writing in real American news events, while editing them a bit. It’s a nice touch and definitely something that has you wondering what they’ll do in the next episode. There are strong plot lines that last throughout episodes–such as love, stress, certain position conflicts–but I feel like one can enjoy episodes individually without seeing the previous, but it will make you want to watch it religiously!

I really enjoy the script a lot. It’s funny and oh so clever. You’ll have to watch and see! Yet, unfortunately, according to Wikipedia, Sorkin seems to have said that he will get a completely new set of writers for the next season, because he wants to be able to do most of the writing. We’ll have to see what happens then.

If you’ve already got the HBO subscription and haven’t started watching, you really really should. Otherwise, crash a friend’s pad for a day and catch up! It’s getting even juicier, and the sixth episode was an excellent one for Olivia Munn’s character, Sloan. She’s got some fire in her. In the first couple episodes she isn’t a big character but she has definitely gotten there. I enjoy the courage in that character. The EP (executive producer) named Mac (MacKenzie) played by Emily Mortimer is absolutely fantastic. As you can see, I love strong female roles who know what they want and reach for it.

If you like news, strong character roles, and some clever intellectual humor, it’s not too late to catch up.

The Newsroom airs at 10pm on Sunday nights on HBO.

Cheers!

xoxo

I’d love some feedback, public! I’m still working on my writing style. I’m not really trying to be anything more than kind and informational, but I’ve been reading a lot lately and want to aim for a stronger writing style. Something more me. Something that will be easy to read. Can you recommend any books that will help?

I think I’ll start a new thing, ending the post with what I’m listening to while writing. I am obsessed with music, and this way, it can be in simpler terms.

What I was listening to

Various tracks by Die Antwoord and this awesome hazy chillwave synthpop artist named Chad Valley that my guy introduced me to. Both “Equatorial Ultravox” (album) and the “Chad Valley EP” are excellent. If you’re a fan of Washed Out, Toro y Moi, and Sun Glitters, check him out. I will do an artist review soon.

Leave a Reply

