Coachella 2013 Preppin’: Shovels and Rope

Hey all! I said I was going to blog about my journey through the Coachella lineup, and here I am! Doing it! Like last year, I randomly went through the random ones I was unfamiliar with and found some really great finds. I’m hoping to find some good ones again. See those colored words down there?? (Yes! They are colors from the Coachella poster!)

Tonight, it’s about 10pm, and I’ve started listening to Shovels & Rope. I am listening to their album O’ Be Joyful on Spotify. Scheduled for Saturday both weekends.

O+Be+Joyful

Shovels & Rope play folk-y indie rock music; definitely friendly to the slap-stick tendencies I find in most folk music that makes me smile. Country speaks to my heart, but sometimes I yearn for the truly southern, gritty, brash and rash and angry feel in the music I listen to. Drums, guitar, banjo, harmonica, fiddle get me jivin’! I’m two songs into the album and enjoying the rough soulful vocals, twang twang twang vibe these two give off. Shovels & Rope are made up of Cary Ann Hearst & Michael Trent, a duo full of that folk rock-and-roll.

I like them. Thinking of giving them a shot at Coachella. It’ll be a good time, a good break from all the electronic I am excited for.

Coming across a really great song, “Hail Hail”. Here’s a link for ya. It’s a fun, jivey tune with lots of rough lyrics, who could ask for more?

Ah, next track. “Lay Low” has the soft, soothing, melancholic feel that I feed off of from some folk songs, especially of the likes of Horse Feathers, one of my absolute favorite groups in the slow-acoustic scene.

I should be reading for school, but I’m just browsing the internet…

Now I’m on a track called “Tickin’ Bomb” and man oh man, it has an intro and riff that I am just so so so in love with. Here’s another link for ya

As I went through and linked the above links, colored them, and made myself a late night snack–cut up smoked turkey snausages and fried them, and some apple slices–I finished listening to the album. There’s a couple of monologues/skits in the latter half of the record.

This is a good album; will definitely have me listening to it a few more times before the festival.

Check our Shovels & Rope if you are into gritty folk rock from a duet who will be big.

Leave a Reply

