Coachella 2013 Preppin’: Tanlines

Hey all! I said I was going to blog about my journey through the Coachella lineup, and here I am! Doing it! Like last year, I randomly went through the artists and bands I was unfamiliar with and found some really great finds. I’m hoping to find some good ones again. See those colored words down there?? They’re Last.fm links. (Yes! They are colors from the Coachella poster!)

This one is on the electronic-indie duo Tanlines. I’m listening to their 2012 release Mixed Emotions.

Tanlines – Mixed Emotions LP

First off, these guys produce sounds that aren’t the usual sounds I go for. I love electronic, and I love indie rock, and I love them mixed together, but these guys have a different sound. Is it the disappearance of all bass? Or the fact that the vocals are a little different from what I expected? Maybe. I think it’s the vocals. The voice is a little flat, but as I get further through the album, I realize that it fits.

The thought that keeps recurring in my head is that these guys have an okay recorded sound, but they are probably pretty entertaining live. I equally love sound quality in both occurrences, and I can tell this would be fun and quirky to listen to live. Perfect for Coachella. This is why festivals are awesome; you get the chance to see a band that you thought you’d pass on, but find that you enjoy their music live. It happens! That’s why music is worth the journey and exploration. :)

The first song that really catches me is “Not The Same”. And it’s funny, this song sounds different from the rest of the album. Here’s the Last.fm link to the track, where you’ll see the video. It’s an interesting one, I quite like it. Gradual implementation of various takes of the duo in different outfits, contributing to the same song in what looks to be the same shot–but we all know how good video producers are nowadays. This particular song I liked because it did sound different than typical indie electronic noise; the vocals were gritty and rock ‘n roll, reminiscent of Bon Iver. The electronic parts of the song are similar to more of the dancey indie wave rock that I am into, such as RÜFÜS and Poolside. Listen to the track a few times, your head will get it soon. This seems like one of their most popular tracks as I’m researching it further.

It seems that the further into the album I get, I am liking the sound more and more. I don’t like that much indie rock because after a while it sounds the same, but Tanlines have an intriguing sound.

I’ll have to give this album a few more rounds. Eventually, I think I’ll put them on my go to see list, but won’t be heartbroken if I don’t catch them. They’re actually in town (San Francisco) this Friday, but I’m already going to another party (Chinese New Year @ 1015 Folsom, w/ Ooah, Starkey, Thriftworks, and a lot more!)

Be sure to check out Tanlines for yourself here at their Last.fm page and all of their music is on Spotify.

Leave a Reply

