Coachella 2013 Preppin’: alt-j (∆)

Hey all! I said I was going to blog about my journey through the Coachella lineup, and here I am! Doing it! Like last year, I randomly went through the artists and bands I was unfamiliar with and found some really great finds. I’m hoping to find some good ones again. See those colored words down there?? They’re Last.fm links. (Yes! They are colors from the Coachella poster!) And I love you all enough to provide you with the appropriate Youtubes.

Managing to get out more and more of these preview posts as I realize how easy they are to produce! Yay me.

This post is on the UK indie electronic band ∆, pronounced alt-j. Here’s their last.fm page.

courtesy of last.fm

Micro play-by-play of the album An Awesome Wave.

These guys are silly, fun, and have a good ear for sounds. I like them so far.

Blown away by the last 45 seconds of the Intro. ‘ere ya go

Following songs are pretty good. Definitely got the indie rock vibe that I get from Foals. This band is talented, I can see why they are popular. Good guitar playing, innovative lyrics and vocals. Love the drumming that is happening in this track, “Something Good”.

Overall, this track sounds lighthearted and precious, a good driving song for the early evening. This band may be from the UK, but they know how to tend to a southern California girl with a love for twangy guitar and soft soothing sounds perfect for a sunny day. This is on my new-favorite-tracks list. There’s just something about subtle vocals, happy guitar, and a positive track title that really gets the spirit of Coachella going! I have recently (today) revitalized my excitement for Coachella. Will be nice to take a road trip, go to a festival, be on VACATION in a few weeks (how lucky am I? to be able to go on two vacations in one semester??), and to hang out with friends and enjoy incredible music.

Here’s another track that I enjoyed. It’s called “Matilda”. This one reminds me very much of Foals’ Antidotes. But this sound is very much alt-j because of the lyrics. A love song! I don’t remember I listened to a new album that had a full-fledged love song on it. Is it for Matilda, from Matilda?

EDIT: It has come to my attention this is from the film The Professional. I wonder if I am too young to be inclined to have watched this movie. Welp. I was wrong and it’s okay. It’s a good sounding song otherwise. Ah yes, I was. I guess I just never got into Natalie Portman and/or films?! I will once I graduate I think…

Listen to the track:

The rest of this album is pretty good. Interesting to say the least! I’ll have to give it a few more listens, and a few listens to the rest of their work. I am definitely interested in seeing them, we’ll see if I have the time! And this is what I love about festivals, for artists and bands you wouldn’t normally go to a gig to see cause of other stuff, you can see them at the festival!

Cheers.

One thought on “Coachella 2013 Preppin’: alt-j (∆)

Leave a Reply

