Coachella 2013 Preppin’: Parov Stelar

Hey all! I said I was going to blog about my journey through the Coachella lineup, and here I am! Doing it! Like last year, I randomly went through the artists and bands I was unfamiliar with and found some really great finds. I’m hoping to find some good ones again. See those colored words down there?? They’re Last.fm links. (Yes! They are colors from the Coachella poster!) And I love you all enough to provide you with the appropriate Youtubes.

Time for a daytime post! This one is on the amazing and stellar music of Parov Stelar.

First off, wow.

Just when I thought I would never hear anything that would excite me as much as Bonobo and RJD2 did when I first listened to them, here it is happening again with Parov Stelar. And it’s pretty funny that this guy’s music sounds like both of the aforementioned! You’ll hear it, I know you will. It’s kind of hard for me to explain how I feel about his music, mostly because it incorporates many of the things that I absolutely love in music. He is a fantastic conductor of this down tempo, atmospheric, FUN, ultra-jazzy trip hop that I am loving more and more.

How had I not heard of this man and his band before? He is definitely going to be at the top of my acts-I-didn’t-know-about-and-am-super-stoked-for list to see at Coachella!

I AM SO EXCITED.

Okay. Time to get to the music. I am reviewing his 2012 release of The Princess.

This is the future of jazz. I love all jazz, but this album is so much fun, so dancey-y. All I can say is that this will be incredible live.

It is a 2-disc album, which I say YAY to, because the more the better. It is longer because there are some remixes and club edits on there. But trust me, download it and you’ll love it.

The first two tracks on the album are what really drew me in. Even though this album was longer, I gave myself a couple listens before writing this post. The first track, “Milla’s Dream” is very reminiscent to RJD2. I’m pretty sure the same samples are used. BUT THAT’S OKAY. It’s good music.

The second track, “All Night” I’m sure is a killer on the dance floor. It’s fun and lively with beautiful vocals. Here’s the extended club mix that’s on disc 2.

I will try not to give away the whole album, and it is really hard for me to explain how I feel about this music–mostly cause I enjoy it so much–but here are a few that really stood out to me.

This one above is called “Dust In The Summer Rain”. The title is so ethereal and lovely, you can’t go wrong with listening to it first and falling in love. The track has beautiful vocals as well, I hope to hear it completely live!

This one is called “The Beach”. I think it is my favorite one. It starts out as sort of melancholic sounding; simple and fluid, but as the song progresses, it’s groovy and will put you in all sorts of good moods.

Other favorites, which happen to be popular tracks from this album are “Song for The Crickets”, “Booty Swing”, and “The Phantom (1930 version)”. Go buy his music, check it out on Last.fm and YouTube, and GO SEE HIM AND THE BAND WHEN YOU GET THE CHANCE!

I am going to definitely listen to the rest of his music. Let me know what you think of this artist and band! I’d love to hear your ideas, recommendations for similar types, and your favorite tracks in the comments below.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

