I made some turkey chili the other night…

Hello all who are awake. It’s nice to talk to you. How are you?

I decided to not be lazy and catch up on tracking my food this week!

I’ve realized that the fewer obligations for tracking my diet and fitness, the better I am at it. If I have to track every calorie, every workout, I tend to feel that it’s too much work.

So here I am just doing what I want, because I can!

Wednesday night I made an awesome chili! I am quite pleased with it, being my first time. I didn’t follow a recipe, I just used the general knowledge I have of chili and my b-friend’s advice.

Here is what I am pretty sure I did:

About 6-8 servings of 2 cups each. (I think)

  • 1 lb of lean lean ground turkey
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 3/4 cup of diced yellow onion

Sautee these 3 ingredients first with about 4-5 tablespoons of olive oil. I eyeball my olive oil pours so that is my guess. Be sure the turkey is practically well done before adding anything else. Hold off on the salt and pepper for now, there will be some salt in the beans!

  • 1-1.5 cups of diced bell peppers. I think I used about 1.5 cups, maybe more. Mixed green and red. yumm! 
  • 1/2 quart of vegetable stock

Let this simmer for a little.

  • 1 cup of chopped celery
  • 1 can of red kidney beans, drained
  • 1 can of white kidney beans, drained
  • 1 can of Great Northern beans (white beans), drained
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes w/ green chile, pureed in food processor
  • 1 can of tomato sauce (you can use tomato paste as well, but i like my chili initially a little more wet, because it will thicken up after cooking and being in the fridge)

I bought all of those from Trader Joe’s. I wish I had time to soak and drain raw beans, but this was the easiest way. Let those cook/simmer for about 10 minutes or longer before putting in spices, for fear of over-salting later.

Here’s the estimate of spices I used. I made mine spicy! You can always use less cayenne.

  • 2 teaspoons of paprika
  • 2-3 teaspoons of cumin
  • 2 teaspoons of cayenne
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of pepper
  • good amount of grinds from everyday seasoning
  • 1 inch chunk of mexican chocolate
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

These were rough estimates. Please do it all to your own liking. I honestly just threw in spices I liked and knew would taste good.

And that’s it! Let it simmer, remember to constantly stir, for about 30-45 minutes covered, mixing in a few minutes of uncovered here and there if it ends up being soupy. Make sure that the beans are cooked thoroughly. No crunchy beans!

It should be wonderfully savory with a strong kick, if you use a lot of cayenne like I did. You can also add other things like corn, carrots, etc.

Still have a lot of it left to eat, and it’s still yummy!

I’m going to try a veggie quinoa chili next!

I’ve also been eating a lot of salad, fruits, cereal, and chicken here and there. Successful so far, no caving in yet! Proud.

Okay, off I go to do some leisure reading. :D

Leave a Reply

