Going to bed tonight dreaming of a future career at Google…

Well, I’m not going to bed quite yet–hello, Game of Thrones is on in a bit–but I just have to get these thoughts out.

Hey all, I’m taking a quick break from an intensive report I’m doing to talk about Google.

Yes, Google this and Google that, they are STILL inspiring people like me–dreamers, doers, what-do-I-do-next?–to want to work for their company.

The report I am writing is a thorough look into 3 potential future employers, or companies we would like to work for, for my Business Communication class. And of course, Google has to be my first. Just before all the research I did today, I’ve always had a feeling that I wanted to work there. I’ve just heard such great things, the benefits are quite nice, and the company’s mission actually happens to detail what I am looking for in my future. Notice that I did not say “career” because I am not looking for a paying job that will get me by, I am looking for an opportunity to build our society, to build our world, help others create an efficient and fun life, and better myself by building strong knowledge and relationships with the world I live in. I really can’t explain exactly what I feel–I really wish I could–but I just know I will be able to work at this company. Of course, this may be naive, but I don’t care. I have an aspiration and I am stubborn enough to make it happen. I’ve always strongly believed that if you have a strong dream to make something happen, nothing will or should get in your way.

Now, after all the research I did reading the “Life At Google” pages online, I know I want to work here. How I will get there, I’m not quite sure yet, but I now have something to focus my future and my journey through life. I might go through some disappointments, but I know working hard will produce the results I want. Lately, I’ve been in a slump. Stress has demotivated me, I haven’t been studying as hard as I used to, I’ve been trying to find a way out. But I’ve realized, yet again, that some things I can’t control, that I can’t fix, and that is just how life goes. Finally writing this report has helped me a lot to find my motivation again, the motivation to work hard on my studying and schooling, my writing, my knowledge search.

The work ethic, and overall lifestyle ethic found at Google is what I want.

Here is an awesome video about Women @ Google!

See how these women present themselves? They are confident, never snooty, focused, and smart as can be. I am, and will be this! I am in love with how these people live, how they work, and their genuine passion in life.

I really recommend everyone look through Google’s work benefits & videos and raise your expectations for life!

You don’t have to read the following but here’s some of the report I’m writing, just you know, in case it gets read by someone important to my future. It’s not finished whatsoever, but I think the writing is pretty good so far. Will tidy it up in due time. It’s also just nice to have this up as an example of report writing to look back on in 10 years or so. :)

——–

Rough Draft of Google intro

 

Introduction of Company and Positions Offered

 

Google Inc. is one of the leading corporations in the Silicon Valley. One of my career goals is to be part of a hugely innovative and widely influential company, and Google fits that dream. The company has been groundbreaking in creating multi-leveled business  by creating exemplary user experience standards for information and technology.

 

The tech company’s mission statement reads, “Google’s mission is to organize the world’s information and make it universally accessible and useful.” This is an incredibly accurate and simple statement. The great minds of Google have produced an entire world of platforms for producing and providing information, all with great user satisfaction.

 

There are many sectors of Google that I find desirable to join. For this report, I am selecting the Product Marketing Manager, Shopping position to analyze and report on. The Shopping department at Google “helps shoppers find and buy products across online and brick and mortar retailers.” (insert citation here, from Google search description) It works as a focused Google search, on products that a user can purchase, online or find in store, and can help compare products with the use of Shortlists. There is also an app, Google Shopper, that facilitates the same function on a mobile device. This department also works closely with Product Search, Google Offers, and Google Commerce. (These were the related departments seen on the Shopping home page)

 

The position of Product Marketing Manager for Shopping provides that the manager be responsible for:

 

  • Develop compelling positioning, messaging, and value proposition for consumers and/or retailers. Represent the voice of the customer. Fill gaps where we lack good understanding of what customers need or want.
  • Manage and execute complex marketing initiatives and strategies in cross-functional teams. Lead global launches to drive internal and external readiness and successful adoption of new products.
  • Work with agencies and internal teams to define branding, campaign development, and execution.
  • Partner with market research team to identify, execute and package compelling market research that supports the value proposition to consumers.
  • Working closely with the cross-functional team (PM, Sales, Ops, PR etc) to build a successful new business.

(remember to cite!)

 

Because the research I am doing currently are for positions that would be in the peak of my career (maybe sooner!), I realize I am not even close to being qualified. However, the requirements for this position will allow me to focus on the skills and achievements that I will need to gain a position similar/related to Product Marketing Management.

 

Minimum qualifications

  • BA or BS degree (In lieu of degree, 4 years of relevant work experience).

 

Preferred qualifications

  • 1 year experience in product marketing, marketing communications, or related area/experience. Strong leadership, written and verbal communication, and interpersonal skills. Strong project and budget management skills, in a cross-functional capacity.
  • Demonstrated strong performance in prior roles with outstanding execution and problem solving skills, resourcefulness, and creativity. Excellent strategic skills to help with business model definition, value proposition, segmentation, and targeted marketing.
  • Marketing experience across product positioning, launch marketing, narrative, and collateral development, online and offline customer acquisition and engagement campaign design and management. Creative flair to bring fresh ideas into product positioning and marketing campaigns.
  • Experience with consumer research, insights, and advocacy. Experience leveraging the full marketing mix.
  • Proven ability to excel in a fast-paced, quickly changing environment.

(remember to cite!)

 

 

Workplace Culture and Benefits

 

Google is famous for its excellent campus, workplace ethic, and benefits. Here is an overview of what continues to make Google what it is today.

 

The Google Culture

 

The self-description of the company’s culture is attractive, and quite honestly, who wouldn’t want to work for this company when reading this:

 

(remember to quote/indent)It’s really the people that make Google the kind of company it is. We hire people who are smart and determined, and we favor ability over experience. Although Googlers share common goals and visions for the company, we hail from all walks of life and speak dozens of languages, reflecting the global audience that we serve. And when not at work, Googlers pursue interests ranging from cycling to beekeeping, from frisbee to foxtrot.

 

We strive to maintain the open culture often associated with startups, in which everyone is a hands-on contributor and feels comfortable sharing ideas and opinions. In our weekly all-hands (“TGIF”) meetings—not to mention over email or in the cafe—Googlers ask questions directly to Larry, Sergey and other execs about any number of company issues. Our offices and cafes are designed to encourage interactions between Googlers within and across teams, and to spark conversation about work as well as play.

 

What I find the most desirable is the “open culture often associated with startups, in which everyone is a hands-on contributor”. I find this to be the most motivating benefit of working at a company like Google. This is a perk when building a career in the San Francisco Bay Area–many companies provide this sort of culture, because they want you to enjoy your work, and be the most productive you can be. This is exactly the environment I strive to work in; a career where I can provide efficient tools for the public to lead efficient and productive lifestyles gives me the greatest satisfaction.

 

Benefits

 

There are various benefits offered at Google, from the standard benefits package of healthcare and food perks, but the way Google works in general–everyone can ask a question, and everyone can provide an answer–is the biggest benefit, in my opinion. At first glance, their hiring process and what the look for in a new employee are highly beneficial for the applying candidate, because in this modern world, I believe thought-process and work ethic are a lot stronger in candidate profiles than grades and the school where your degree was achieved.

 

Here are their criteria:

 

Leadership

 

We’ll want to know how you’ve flexed different muscles in different situations in order to mobilize a team. This might be by asserting a leadership role at work or with an organization, or by helping a team succeed when you weren’t officially appointed as the leader.

 

Role-Related Knowledge

 

We’re looking for people who have a variety of strengths and passions, not just isolated skill sets. We also want to make sure that you have the experience and the background that will set you up for success in your role. For engineering candidates in particular, we’ll be looking to check out your coding skills and technical areas of expertise.

 

How You Think

 

We’re less concerned about grades and transcripts and more interested in how you think. We’re likely to ask you some role-related questions that provide insight into how you solve problems. Show us how you would tackle the problem presented–don’t get hung up on nailing the “right” answer.

 

Googleyness

 

We want to get a feel for what makes you, well, you. We also want to make sure this is a place you’ll thrive, so we’ll be looking for signs around your comfort with ambiguity, your bias to action and your collaborative nature.

 

 

These criteria are about finding out who Google hires, not what qualifications, what names, what schools, what labels they are hiring. Being able to understand the process Google uses to hire will also help to focus what steps I will take in my career to be able to work at Google, being that I still look to work there in the future.

 

 

General Benefits/Life at Google

 

Here is where I will extend more on these topics/benefits:

people

food

thinking areas/work environment

healthcare/on-site physicians/retirement

fitness facilities, health programs, massage

family, work-life balance, babies

learning, education benefits

legal aid

transportation benefits

 

Leave a Reply

