Hello foggy Friday + the Pomodoro Technique–for getting things done!

I semi-failed at pulling an all-nighter last night… ): It’s okay though! I went to bed at 2 and woke up an hr ago and I feel great. I was aiming to get up around 5:30am, let’s just say it happened only for a second.

Alas, I regret that I did not prepare any posts for today! I will aim to get one up eventually today. I just keep finding great blogs that have blogging tips that I want to read and research, so maybe that one will come out on Monday! I’ve got a nice long weekend ahead of me, and I may have to opt out of being social for most of it. Not all though!

I had a pretty productive night last night, I wish I could have gotten more done though. However, during my research, I found a great little method that could probably be the solution to my focus issues! Let’s take a look at the Pomodoro Technique, created by Francesco Cirillo.

I learned a little bit about the Pomodoro Technique, and let’s just say, it worked! Too bad I found out about nearing the end of my night when I was really tired. Basically, I downloaded the desktop app, Focus Booster, as a timer that works with the Pomodoro Technique. The sessions are 25 minutes each, with a break in between. That break time you can adjust, I did about 3 minutes. That 3 minutes was time I could use to get up and stretch, go to the bathroom, refill up on water, rest my eyes. Timer sounds on the app aren’t obnoxious either. Definitely enjoyed having it; I got through 3 sessions!

Here’s a nice video on it. Remember, it’s more than just a timer, but a method where you have to get through 6 logical steps. But for learning the method, start out slow.

http://vimeo.com/52607761

 

Try it out, it’s pretty simple to get started! Start out with just using a timer in general, don’t worry about the other steps yet. Start with that for a day or so, and then look into the handy cheat sheet found on the Pomodoro Technique website, or rewatch the video on your breaks. Start out with the app I mentioned above, Focus Booster.

I’ll try it out plenty this weekend, and I’ll let you know how it goes!

Have you tried any other methods for getting stuff done? What do you do? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

