Something I’ve been thinking about this week

So here is my question: how do you expect public transit to get any better if you don’t take it and don’t pay the money to take it? If public transit is not something you are willing to contribute funds for, how is it supposed to improve. I have seen a lot articles with ideas on alternatives to public transit–shared rides, luxury shuttles, cabs, etc. Sure these are great ideas. But how are they helping any current systems? Why are we so inclined to find new solutions instead of providing better solutions to creent systems? Yes it is a lot of work. Yes it will take more funds initially. But we need to fix current systems first. I won’t deny it, I have used shared ride services such as Lyft and Sidecar, and yes they are very convenient. It is nice to get places in a short amount of time and help others get extra income. But sometimes I just swallow my pride, accept a longer travel time and take public transit. It helps the city and I utilize the services my tax dollars are supposed to work for. This whole scenario is still confusing to me, and I have a lot of research to do. I just need to get my thoughts out about it. 

Leave a Reply

